Apple Cider Vinegar for Dandruff (The Yuck)

My introduction to apple cider vinegar was through a friend who had a friend that was overweight and lost weight with ACV. After that I didn’t really hear about it anymore. Later I found out that Apple cider vinegar is a product from the fermentation of apples from apple and it usually has an amber color to it.

I have been enlightened about the things it can do for me. I recently had a very dry scalp that resulted into flakes (yes I know.. Yuck). So to remove the yuck, I used ACV mixed in water because I remember reading online that it would help with dry itchy and flakey scalp. This stuff was aaaamazing! There wasn’t even a sign I ever had a problem after one usage. Now if your situation is severe you will have to do it a couple time to really get rid of the issue. ACV is great for many things and I have done my research just to inform you of the things it can do for you as well. First I will give you my tried and true remedy for that Yuck on your scalp. Ok so I found instructions on the Dr. Oz website because I don’t use measurements.  I just do what I think is a good amount but for you I will give you something better to follow.

According to the Dr, Oz website

Mix a quarter-cup apple cider vinegar with a quarter-cup water. Pour this mixture into a spray bottle and spritz it on to your hair and scalp, being careful to avoid the eye and ear area. Wrap your head in a towel. Leave on for anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour, then remove the towel and wash your hair. Try this treatment twice a week as a natural alternative to anti-dandruff shampoos that contain harsh chemicals.

http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/kitchen-cures-your-doctor-can-not-live-without

Pro’: It WILL clean your scalp

Cons: It makes your hair squeaky clean and that isn’t good at all. Your hair needs oils so when you do this it is very important that you moisturize you hair after you get the yuck off of your scalp. Your hair will break off if you leave it dry.

The other con is the smell. It may not bother you but I don’t care for it.

There are a ton of other uses for ACV click the link below and be enlightened

http://www.naturalnews.com/035997_apple_cider_vinegar_remedies_health.html

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:38:04

    It worked for me. I had a bad case of dandruff – scalp and facial. I mixed together apple cider vinegar and water, half and and, and put it on my scalp. After 10-15 mins I rinsed it off and shampooed as usual. Did the scalp treatment twice a week. For the face I dabbed this mixture on with cotton wool and left it on for 10 mins before rinsing it off. After a few days it had all cleared up 99%. When the days grew warmer and I got a good dose of sunshine the rest disappeared as well. Sometimes add a bit of lavender essential oil to the scalp mix to give it a pleasanter smell.

    Reply

  2. sheliza
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 09:59:59

    after applying it on the scalp do u have to wash ur hair with shampoo?

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 04:33:56

    Upon first use it relieves the itch right away .. Thank god a sense of releive

    Reply

  4. ekat
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 00:58:14

    will it affect the color of my balck hair?

    Reply

  5. atelier801
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 04:06:39

    Reblogged this on atelier801.

    Reply

  6. Natural Hair Lovers
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 09:04:58

    Good article! The vinegar smell goes away after a few minutes.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Apple Cider Vinegar for Dandruff (The Yuck) | The Preshest
  8. thepreshest
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 14:06:57

    My dandruff has been cutting up so I will definitely be trying this when I wash this weekend.

    Reply

  9. vinegarandwater
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 21:20:38

    Great! I wasn’t even thinking about doing anything for the smell. I just tuff it out. I’ve smelled worse but if there is a quick and easy solution for it I will try it. Thanks for the info and I will check out Crunchy Betty’s blog as well.

    Reply

  10. Ren
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 17:51:31

    I love ACV for hair! I had no idea it’s great for flaky scalp, though. That’s great. I use it as an alternative to conditioner. I first read about it on CrunchyBetty’s blog: http://www.crunchybetty.com/no-poo-to-you-too. I read through the comments and one person mentioned putting in a cinnamon stick and either vanilla or lemon juice to help combat the smell. I did cinnamon & vanilla, and it really works. The addition of lemon juice is also good for blonds (like me) so that the ACV doesn’t discolour the hair.

    Reply

  11. donnaespirito
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 10:05:08

    Eek! I don’t think I would be able to stand the smell! Might give it a try though.

    Great blog.

    http://donnasdelights.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Your thoughts and feelings are appreciated here

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

