DIY: Natural Hair Gel From Flax Seed

When I found out that I  could make my own gel I was so excited because I have been curious about hair gel was made and more about what goes into making it hold. So I am sharing what I have learned with you 🙂 Enjoy!

I did not follow these exact steps you can follow my video or you can follow this recipe. I added the essential oils while the water was hot and still boiling. It was just the way I decided to do it. You can do it before or after. I don’t see any harm it doing it before.

Ingredients:

Quarter cup of whole flax seeds
2 cup water

Optional ingredients:

Pure Aloe Vera Gel, if you wish I think the aloe gel will make it feel more like a hair gel the flax seed feels a lot like slime but it does gel a little more when it’s refrigerated.

Other optional ingredients:

 A few drops of essential oils like grape seed oil, rosemary, lavender, tea tree

Instructions:

Bring water to a boil. Stir the seeds into the water and reduce heat. Simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring constantly, until a gel-like lotion is formed. Strain through a fine strainer or cheesecloth or if all else fails you can use pantyhose to strain into a small bottle or container. Add essential oils and store in the refrigerator for up to 1 week BUT if you ass vitamin E oil or jojoba oil and it can last an extra two weeks.

I will be posting more about this as I become more experienced with this gel but I am excited about this experience.

Let me know if you try it and what worked for you!

Learn more about the benefits of flax seeds at http://www.herbwisdom.com/herb-flaxseed-oil.html

http://www.livestrong.com/article/312983-flaxseed-benefits-for-hair-skin/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vinegarandwater
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 23:04:50

    Thanks! No it doesn’t come out like Eco Styler at all. It’s more like… slime. It feels strange when you first apply it. It does have a hold to it but not a strong hold. I have a couple products in my hair already so when I wash my hair I will really see what it does on its own. I will post pics or maybe a video because I can’t show the consistency of the gel in a pic. After I wash I’ll know what to do. I heard it’s great for braid and twist outs so maybe I’ll try that. There will be another post about it soon but I was so excited I had to try it and share on here as soon as I could. Thanks agan! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Naturally Stellar
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 22:40:19

    So does it come out thick like Eco Styler gel? If it does, I will definately start making my own so I can add my favorite oils. If you try it out in your hair and it holds down edges…please send me a pic. Thanks so much for sharing this. Cool Post lady!

    Reply

Your thoughts and feelings are appreciated here

