Sundays Were Made For Reminiscing :-)

I can remember many mornings getting dressed for school and hollering the words to this song in the back of a comb or brush. Enjoy your Sunday with Lauryn Hill-That Thing

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naturally Stellar
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 17:40:44

    I agree. Nikki Minaj is so wack to me. Not just because of her negative imagery or fake persona, but her rhymes are just so empty. I can’t listen to 3 or 4 minutes of nothing. I take having the gift of music very seriously. It’s not something to be wasted. I never really got into Jean Grae (maybe I’ll revisit). I always loved Bahamadia, Lauryn, Lyte, Latifah, Nikki D, Heather B (not a lot of people remember her but she was dope). Of course Salt & Pepa to name a few.

    A lot of people are hyped about NC newcomer Rhapsody, but I’m not sold yet. She definately has skills, but I can’t put her up there with the list above just yet.

    Reply

    • vinegarandwater
      Nov 06, 2012 @ 02:37:07

      I agree with you 100%. I just always think how do you pitch some of these ideas to these suits in the office meetings? Like really, how do you pitch “Beez In the Trap” to someone? If it was me, it wouldn’t have happened. Not with my time and money. She would have brought that into my meeting and would have left very angry because I would have sent her back to the drawing board with all of that. I saw something Nikki said this morning, she said she knows she won’t get the credit for the doors she’s opened for women in hip-hop. I just want to know what doors is she talking about? The doors were already open when she got there. And I was young when Lyte and them were out so I liked them then and I knew their music but I appreciate them more now. Maybe my sis remembers Heaather B.

      Reply

    • vinegarandwater
      Nov 06, 2012 @ 02:43:12

      I heard about Rhapsody but I havent taken a listen to her yet.There are a few new people but I’m just not tryna her the crap right now. Maybe I’ll open my ears a little more. Maybe!

      Reply

  2. Naturally Stellar
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 22:09:57

    When that came out I was an undergrad all excited because finally we had a female mc that was Hot, could rhyme, sing and got just as much respect, if not more, than her male counterparts, without ever taking an ounce of clothes off. Hip Hop was coming out of a drought. Luv me sum Lauryn!!

    Reply

    • vinegarandwater
      Nov 04, 2012 @ 22:38:06

      Hip-hop was good back then.I loved Eve when she came out as well. Now you have to dig in the crates for good music. I love Jean Grae but it’s not like you can turn on the radio and listen to her. Now all we have is Nikki minaj and that woman is lost, confused and tacky! I miss the days of L-Boogie!

      Reply

Your thoughts and feelings are appreciated here

