You Live And You Learn

I feel like I have been talking about hair a lot lately but I learned something that made me feel so informed. Hiar burns at 451 degrees. Now I remember when i bought my flat-iron a couple of years back and I was looking for the best flat iron that got hottest because I thought that’s what my hair needed.  My hair is stubborn. My flat-Irion goes up to 450 and I would always crank it up to that. In the beginning I thought that it was crazy and unhealthy but after getting used to it and talking to a friend who was equally as ignorant I kept on doing it. I really thought that I needed the highest heat. My friend did too. a Then to reassure ourselves, we started talking about, “Well I’m sure the stove at the shop gets hotter and they know how to do hair so 450 can’t be that bad.” SMH! The ignorance! Now I’m not a stylist and I don’t have patience with hair so I didn’t do it often but once is enough to cause an irreversible problem. So I realized that my hair is “acting up” because I have not flat ironed it in 10 months. New Year’s Eve was the last time for me and it’s because I noticed my hair was burned and every time I touched it the strands would just fall.  I know exactly the problem and yes I do need a trim as well.  You live and you learn. Damn…

On the bright side if you still want to enjoy the ease of strait hair there is a healthier way to do it. There is an Ipak argon oil infused flat-iron that seems much healthier that the regular flat-iron’s in the stores. It has a chamber where there is a heat protectant solution to coat your hair so that it does not burn.  Its’ a about $69.99 which is a lot cheaper than most irons as well. This flat-Irion has vents that infuse the heat protectant solution onto your hair as you straiten it. It also has a heat control and steam options.  I wish I knew all of this growing up.  Damn…

Here where you can get the iron

http://www.sallybeauty.com/argan-iron/SBS-301624,default,pd.html

Here is where you can see how to safely flat-iron your hair



biobloom

Coffee Facial Mask for Clear Skin

Ingredients
–3 tablespoons of used finely ground coffee
–A Small Glass of Milk
Instructions
–Add the used finely ground coffee into a bowl. Stir in milk until it achieves a think texture. Mix the ingredients till well blended. Try not to make the paste too diluted or it’ll be runny and it’s gonna be messy during application. If mixture becomes too runny, simply add a little more coffee into it.
–When ready, apply the paste onto your face and neck and smooth it out all over your face. Avoid eyes and lips.
–Slowly massage the mixture to your skin and relax for 20 mins.
–While washing off the mask, slowly massage the paste to your skin. It acts further as an exfoliator. Don’t massage too hard if you have sensitive skin
–Pat dry face and apply moisturizer while skin is still damp to seal…

View original post 17 more words

Your thoughts and feelings are appreciated here

