You Live And You Learn

I feel like I have been talking about hair a lot lately but I learned something that made me feel so informed. Hair burns at 451 degrees. Now I remember when i bought my flat-iron a couple of years back and I was looking for the best flat-iron that got hottest because I thought that’s what my hair needed.  My hair is stubborn. My flat-iron goes up to 450 and I would always crank it up to that. In the beginning I thought that it was crazy and unhealthy but after getting used to it and talking to a friend who was equally as ignorant I kept on doing it. I really thought that I needed the highest heat. My friend did too. a Then to reassure ourselves, we started talking about, “Well I’m sure the stove at the shop gets hotter and they know how to do hair so 450 can’t be that bad.” SMH! The ignorance! Now I’m not a stylist and I don’t have patience with hair so I didn’t do it often but once is enough to cause an irreversible problem. So I realized that my hair is “acting up” because I have not flat ironed it in 10 months. New Year’s Eve was the last time for me and it’s because I noticed my hair was burned and every time I touched it the strands would just fall.  I know exactly the problem and yes I do need a trim as well.  You live and you learn. Damn…

On the bright side if you still want to enjoy the ease of straight hair there is a healthier way to do it. There is an Ipak argon oil infused flat-iron that seems much healthier that the regular flat-iron’s in the stores. It has a chamber where there is a heat protectant solution to coat your hair so that it does not burn.  Its’ a about $69.99 which is a lot cheaper than most irons as well. This flat-Irion has vents that infuse the heat protectant solution onto your hair as you flat-iron it. It also has a heat control and steam options.  I wish I knew all of this growing up.  Damn…

Here where you can get the iron

http://www.sallybeauty.com/argan-iron/SBS-301624,default,pd.html

Here is where you can see how to safely flat-iron your hair

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZJ7u2lOuls&list=UUa0PgZLJfRuGrp7DL1urX9Q&index=16&feature=plcp

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mypolyvorefashions
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 01:43:03

    I went through the same thing with the whole flat iron thing. Tried 3 different types of flatirons but for the past year I have been using the tourmaline ceramic h2pro that I got from house of beauty. I use the Fantasia IC heat protectant oil.

    Reply

    • vinegarandwater
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 01:54:16

      i just gave up the flst iron all together. The damage is sooo bad. I just wish I knew the whole 451 degrees thing a long time ago. it makes me a little upset but hey you live and you learn…

      Reply

      • mypolyvorefashions
        Dec 03, 2012 @ 02:20:21

        That’s true! Hope you didn’t damage your hair using all that excessive heat in your hair. The flat iron I have I keep it set at 370 and it works like a charm.

        Reply

        • vinegarandwater
          Dec 03, 2012 @ 05:52:58

          I did 😦 That’s what I am dealing with right now. heat damage and trying to get back healthy. it’s so frustrating. I need a trim and few other things.

          Reply

          • mypolyvorefashions
            Dec 03, 2012 @ 12:14:53

            Aww sorry to hear that! What are you using to fix your damaged hair?

          • vinegarandwater
            Dec 03, 2012 @ 21:23:14

            I really don’t know what to use. I just condition it as much as pissible and keep it pushing. It stayes in a bun, ball or ponytail. I really don’t have a lot of time right now to dedicate to it because if this fantastic thesis that I’m writing :-/ Do you have any suggestions?

          • mypolyvorefashions
            Dec 04, 2012 @ 02:10:29

            You are doing the right thing by not using heat in your hair. Make sure you don’t over condition your hair because it will become limp. Deep condition once a week. I would suggest looking for hair products that deal with damaged hair. Try Garnirer Fructis products. I have been using there products for months now on my daughter’ s hair. Their products have moroccan and apricot oil in them. And they are inexpensive. They have products that deal with damaged hair.

          • vinegarandwater
            Dec 04, 2012 @ 05:23:06

            it’s a struggle trying to find a balance that works for my hair. Who knew moisturizing could cause a problem all these years. I know I was terrible at doing it the first place now I have to worry about over doing it lol! ignorance was bliss it just wasn’t healthy. thanks for the tips.

          • mypolyvorefashions
            Dec 05, 2012 @ 03:03:21

            Anytime! I went through a lot of trial and error myself. It’s not being ignorant. It’s called learning. There are so many different hair products and everyone has a different techniques for doing hair it’s easy to get confused and get caught up in the hype. Your welcome!

  2. thundermtfashion
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 00:51:45

    I will deff have to get that straightener! 🙂

    Reply

Your thoughts and feelings are appreciated here

