It’s All Been Done Before But Should We Still Be Doing It??

Old Crisco

A lot of women are using Crisco in their hair. Yes Crisco. When I first heard this I thought it was a little weird but I do remember hearing about Crisco being used outside of cooking. So it’s not really a new thing but it is trending right now. I was confused at first because I thought people stopped using Crisco. It was never in my house growing up and I was told by an older friend of mine that when it first came on the market it was made with lard. I couldn’t find anything that said Crisco had lard in it but I do know the formula has changed over the years. Some people are not completely sold on using Crisco in their hair and I’m not either but as I learn I am willing to at least experiment.
.
I have watched a few videos on Crisco for hair and I am a little hesitant about is some of the mixtures that I have found. We have to be careful when mixing because UNLESS we are chemist we don’t really know the chemistry of some of the ingredients we are mixing. Sometimes I think we know that we have had worse things like alcohol and mineral oil in over the counter products so we are ok with mixing “natural” or what appears to be natural ingredients. Sometimes I am concerned about the “natural’ things that some of us are mixing. Women are using Crisco to flat-iron their hair and that I can see the reason and benefits of. I think it’s better to coat the hair while flat ironing to prevent heat damage the way we used to in the 90’s. I’m not saying use that old school red styling wax but I’m pretty sure it was always better to coat the hair. Hair burns at 451 degrees and most flat irons go to 450. Be very careful with heat styling. Coat your hair; you will regret it later if you don’t.

Women are also using Crisco as a curling cream. I love curling creams but the OTC products are full of unnecessary ingredients and some are expensive. So this sways me towards trying Crisco even more. I have seen a couple of YouTube videos where “napturals” mixed Crisco, hair gel, olive oil and conditioner (that you would normally wash out) and whipped it in a blender, to use as a butter cream for twist and braid outs. That particular mixture confuses me because I don’t understand why oils need to be mixed with something that is made of vegetable oils. Crisco is very greasy. I also don’t understand why a conditioner that you would normally wash out needs to be in a mixture you plan to leave in. I’m not knocking these recipes because the women who use them say it’s the best these are just things that I am confused by. Of course you do things to fit your hair type. I did find a recipe on a website that I thought was pretty good and worth trying.

I believe this recipe came from a lady name Meisha who wrote to natreview but I like this recipe because it doesn’t have a lot of extra ingredients in it.

Nat Review

DIY Curling Cream
While styling gels are fine and have their purpose, I have found myself leaning more toward creamier stylers. For a while I was using only conditioner for my wash and gos. Conditioner works fine and leaves my hair feeling soft, however it isn’t something that left me with lasting results. After a day or two I would need to restyle my hair or risk it tangling. This curling cream gives my hair a soft hold that lasts for a few days and helps keep moisture in my hair. Here is the recipe:

1. 3/4 cup aloe vera gel
2. 1/4 cup crisco
3. 2 tbsps grapeseed oil
4. 1 tbsp castor oil

Using a hand mixer is best for thorough whipping and a smooth consistency.

*For an extra moisturizing boost, you can add 1/4 cup of a moisturizing conditioner.

This cream isn’t just for wash and gos. It also works well for twist outs and braid outs. Right now this is my go to styler. Hopefully someone else can find it useful too!

Now the newly natural website has answered so many of my questions. It list ingredients it answers the questions like will my hair smell like fried chicken? So if you have any concerns about using Crisco this website should help you understand what it does for naptural hair.

http://newlynatural.com/blog/2012/01/my-adventures-with-crisco/

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mypolyvorefashions
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 07:04:25

    So the video I heard her mention that she uses castor oil in her hair I have some of that now maybe I may try that and see how it does for my hair because her hair is long. And there were a couple other products I heard like the the green tea leave in conditioner and a few other products so I’m going to subscribe to her videos on youtube to find out more of her daily regiments. My daughter’s hair is like the girl in the video. Now as far as the whole crisco thing I don’t I would be able to do it because it’s a mental thing for me. When I hear Crisco I think fried chicken..LOL But I really like your blogs because I love to do hair and I like learning about hair products and styling tools. When I first started my blogs it was about hair but I didn’t have the time to commit to researching. I would love if you post a blog about flatirons. Like which brand is worth buying. I did a blog about flatirons but it was about what type is best for your hair ceramic,titanimum, or ceramic tourmaline. I would also like to know more about spiral curling irons and how to keep your curls from falling. I’m having that issue now with my daughter. Keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • vinegarandwater
      Dec 22, 2012 @ 07:48:19

      Thank You and I should do a post on flat irons. I did touch on it in the You Live And You Learn post but I guess I could go into it a little more. Since i stopped flat ironing I’m a little out of the loop but I will go into that. I try not to limit this blog to just hair but It seems the topic comes up every other day. I do understand your frustration with falling curls but unless you use hair spray I don’t know how to get around that one. I’ll have to search around for the answer and post it. Thanks!

      Reply

      • mypolyvorefashions
        Dec 22, 2012 @ 15:27:10

        Your welcome! The reason why hair is such a hot topic is 3 reasons. 1 you have more people going natural and 2 their are so many different hair products on the market people like myself always want to know if it’s a good product. And the last reason is when you find products you may want to try you have study the ingredients in those products to make sure that when you use it it won’t cause ireversable damage to your hair.

        Reply

        • vinegarandwater
          Dec 23, 2012 @ 04:29:02

          Right very true!

          Reply

          • mypolyvorefashions
            Dec 23, 2012 @ 13:29:42

            I won my second fashion contest! My set came in 5th place. I’m a little shocked because when I put it together I was tired. I just wanted to put something together quick so I could enter the contest before the deadline. You’ve probably already seen it. It was my No Regrets set.I’m going to repost it anyway.

          • vinegarandwater
            Dec 23, 2012 @ 19:17:32

            Congrats!! I told you that you would get another one. Im glad your work paid off & I do remember that outfit. You said you weren’t quite sure about posting it. I know you are happy you did now. 🙂

  2. mypolyvorefashions
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:38:03

    I have to admit I grew up on Crisco. It used to come in a blue and white can. I remember my mom used it to fry chicken and pork chops. And it made that chicken taste so good. After the can was empty she would save the can to store old grease and bacon fat.O never heard of Crisco being used as a heat protectant. My nerves are too bad to experiment on my hair like that so I’ll stick with my over the counter heat serum. When I was younger my mom used to used to use tcb and ultra sheen in my hair. So I guess it’s easy to figure out that I am a 70’s baby..LOL

    Reply

  3. missguidedgirl
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 07:59:23

    Hey, can you tell me what criso is? I have never heard of it before. Is it like a type of lard? :-p

    Reply

  4. Wella Maxximum Tonic
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 07:53:52

    Thanks share nice information.

    Reply

Your thoughts and feelings are appreciated here

