Mayonnaise Hair Treatment

Mayo

I will say this conditioner is not something I like to do  but I know that mayo is great as a conditioner for hair. I remember trying this a long time ago when my hair was dry and desperate and I couldn’t stand the smell and took forever to remove the smell. BUT I hear it does amazing things so I’m sharing.

After washing your hair, apply a good amount of mayonnaise to your hair. Rub it through your hair like you would a conditioner. The amount that you are going to use really depends on the length and thickness of your hair. After you have applied the mayo all through your hair with either a towel or shower cap so that the mayonnaise can penetrate the hair follicles. You leave the Mayo on your hair for about 30 mins or so but you can leave it in for as long as you can tolerate the smell in a day. Lastly you can shampoo or just rinse it our thoroughly (for those who no longer use shampoo) but I really think some kind of shampoo is best for getting this mixture out. If I’m wrong about that let me know.

Now this is a very basic Mayo treatment because mayo has been known to do great things by itself; but people also mix olive oil with their mayo hair conditioning treatment. I have also found egg, mayo and olive oil mixture as a great hair treatment. But I think that it may ne unnecessary to add egg and olive oil because Mayo is made from egg and oils and there is even a Mayo with olive oil in it but I’m no expert so if you know something I don’t et me know. I just can’t get past the smell of it on my hair.

This treatment is said to help with breakage, split ends and dry dull hair. Your hair should feel soft and shiny after this treatment. Let me know how it works.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. simplycurle
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 05:32:40

    My mother used to mix mayonaise, egg, olive oil and beer (yes beer) for my deep conditioning treatments as a child. I don’t know who gave her the idea for it, but I always remember thinking she was crazy. I haven’t done a mayo deep conditioner in a while but I honestly do love it, despite the smell. lol

    Reply

  2. mypolyvorefashions
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 00:14:18

    I have 4 kids so I need all my mayo for sandwiches!! LOL But I read a saw tutorials on youtube. Mentally I can’t wrap my mind around the idea of putting may in my hair. For now I’ll just stick to my Cantu leave in conditioner which works wonders for my hair. I was skeptical at first because I saw a lot of reviews about it on youtube and the biggest complaint was it left white balls in your hair. I guess the didn’t let their hair dry fully before adding other styling products.

    Reply

    • vinegarandwater
      Jan 13, 2013 @ 00:36:54

      LOL! I use the Cantu leave in as well. I have been using it when I retwist my Havana twist. This is my first time using it but so far it’s good enough. The Hair I used soaks up all the moisture from my hair but the Cantu seems to work.

      Reply

      • mypolyvorefashions
        Jan 13, 2013 @ 15:21:21

        I have been trying to find a leave in conditioner that would make my hair feel soft after it was dry especially since I let my hair air dry. I tried the African Pride leave in because it’s suppose to be for transitioning hair but my hair always felt dry and brittle. I love Cantu my hair feels so soft.

        Reply

  3. thebeautyprogram
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 13:22:43

    Thanks for sharing natural recipes 🙂
    I read about using mayonnaise as a conditioner several times now, but I still can’t get myself to try it…

    Reply

  4. charlidholbrook
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 00:42:55

    thanks for sharing fellow natural! much love.
    xoC

    Reply

  5. missguidedgirl
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 14:48:04

    Hey I love this treatment for moisturising my hair! I also can’t stand the smell!!!! But anything to keep my hair healthy. LOL I usually just add oil to have more of a benefit. But I usually also add egg when I don’t have natural plain yogurt. How is your hair doing? Happy holidays!!!!!!!

    Reply

    • vinegarandwater
      Dec 29, 2012 @ 05:49:16

      Oh ok so adding more oil does do something extra for the hair. What does the plain yogurt do? My hair is doing ok. it’s in Havana twist and i’m loving it so I just have to keep it moisturized so it doesn’t lock up on me. Happy Holidays to you too! 🙂

      Reply

Your thoughts and feelings are appreciated here

